Current Organocatalysis

Bimal K. Banik
Vice President of Research & Education Development
Community Health Systems of South Texas (CHSST)
Edinburg, Texas


L-Proline Catalyzed Synthesis of Structurally Diverse 1,4- dihydropyridines Fused with Medicinally Privileged Heterocyclic Systems

Author(s): Sarita Khandelwal, Anshu Rajawat and Mahendra Kumar

Affiliation: Department of Chemistry, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur, 302004, India.

Graphical Abstract:


Structurally diverse unsymmetrically annulated 1,4-dihydropyridines have been synthesized by L-proline catalyzed four-component domino protocol involving the reaction of 2-aminobenzothiazole, thiophene-2-carbaldehyde and carbonyl compounds in ethanol. The utilization of L-proline in the multicomponent reaction will make the present protocol attractive for synthesis of 1,4-dihydropyridines in terms of reaction efficiency, atom-economy and environmental safety.

Keywords: 2-aminobenzothiazole, 1, 4-dihydropyridines, chromenoindenopyridines, chromenoquinolines, indenoquinolines, Knoevenagel condensation, medicinally privileged heterocycles, Michael addition, multicomponent reaction, organocatalysis, L-proline, pyranoquinolines.

Order Reprints Order Eprints Rights & PermissionsPrintExport

Article Details

Page: [51 - 58]
Pages: 8
DOI: 10.2174/22133372114016660004